FSB: TLAC standard for G-SIBs banks at test bench

Giu 06 2018

In November 2015 the Financial Stability Board (FSB) issued a new standard on the adequacy of total loss-absorbing and recapitalisation capacity for Global Systemically Important Banks (G-SIBs) in resolution (‘the TLAC standard’).

The main principle upon which the entire TLAC standard is built is that G-SIBs banks must have sufficient loss-absorbing and recapitalisation capacity available in resolution to implement an orderly resolution that minimises any impact on financial stability, ensures the continuity of critical functions, and avoids exposing taxpayers (that is, public funds) to loss with a high degree of confidence.

In practice, the TLAC standard seeks to ensure that G-SIBs have at all times sufficient loss-absorbing and recapitalisation capacity available so that in case of failure they can be resolved  in without affecting financial stability despite their systemic importance.

The TLAC standard will be phased in from January 2019. The FSB made a commitment to report, by the time of the G20 Leaders’ Summit in June 2019, on whether the implementation of the TLAC standard is proceeding in a manner consistent with the timelines and objectives set out in the TLAC standard and to identify any technical issues or operational challenges in the implementation.


FSB Total Loss Absorbing Capacity Standards (PDF)

FSB TLAC – call for public feedback (PDF)


I commenti per questo post sono chiusi